Green Electronics Council Accepting 2016 Catalyst Award Nominations

The Green Electronics Council, which manages the EPEAT system, is now accepting nominations for its 2016 Catalyst Awards, a global celebration of innovative solutions and tangible environmental accomplishments throughout the lifecycle of electronic technologies. The 2016 Catalyst Awards will recognize innovations in resource reduction. Organizations and individuals may now submit their nomination online.

The 2016 Catalyst Awards define resource reduction as “decreasing the resource intensity of products and packaging through reduction of weight, volume, toxicity or the use of materials with high environmental loadings, accomplished through improvements in design, production, use, reuse, and/or recycling.

Nominations will be accepted until April 2. The winner of the 2016 Catalyst Award will be announced at the Electronics Goes Green 2016 conference in Berlin, Germany, on September 7.

Dell Inc. won the inaugural Green Electronics Council Catalyst Award in 2015 for its innovative work to close the manufacturing loop by using 100% post-consumer recycled plastic in certain components. Dell was presented the 2015 Catalyst Award during the Emerging Green Conference, the premiere international gathering of technology leaders in 2015 to discuss the advances, challenges and future of sustainable electronics.

Any organization, individual or combination of organizations and individuals collaborating may submit their project for a 2016 Catalyst Award. Nominations must focus on the greening of electronics and exist in the public domain at the time of submission. Nominations will be accepted for products, processes, policies and programs launched during the past five (5) years.

The Catalyst Award winner will be selected a Judging Committee composed of third-party experts. This Committee will be selected and managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Further details about the 2016 Catalyst Awards, including nomination guidelines and a link to download the full nomination packet, is available at this link.