Countries/regions currently included in the EPEAT system

EPEAT currently registers products in 43 countries and regions.

United StatesCzech Republic
IrelandNew ZealandSwitzerland
AustriaEstoniaJapanPolandUnited Kingdom
Costa RicaIcelandMexicoSpain

Why EPEAT Registers Products by Location

EPEAT product registration is country-specific because product identification and environmental performance can vary by location. Registration by country enables potential buyers around the world to evaluate, compare and select the exact product models available to them based on the environmental characteristics that products attain in their country of purchase. Verification investigation is also country-specific, tailored to the claims made for products in each region.

The public standards on which EPEAT registration is based are the same everywhere; however, in order to broadly support the availability of environmentally preferable products, EPEAT enables manufacturers to meet a very small number of its optional criteria in some countries and not others. For example, a manufacturer may register a product in Lithuania and the United States even though the product’s solar accessory may only be available in the United States.  Different registration records for each country make these country differences visible to purchasers and the public.

Search for participating manufacturers and product registrations by country.

How a country/region is added to the system

The EPEAT Registry is open to the addition of new countries/regions. Anyone can request a new country/region by filling out the Application for Country Addition. Upon receiving an application, EPEAT staff works with the applicant to evaluate the request, considering the interest from purchasers in the country, support from government agencies, support from manufacturers who sell in the country, the availability of critical infrastructure like recycling services, availability of Verification capacity and resources, and other factors.

If these seem favorable, EPEAT posts the request for public comment below for 30 days and provides it to the stakeholder Advisory Council to seek their input. Those wishing to provide input may contact EPEAT here. Once the public comment period concludes, EPEAT will evaluate the comments and decide whether to move forward to implement the new country on the Registry.

Once a new country/region has been approved, EPEAT will announce the planned addition and will post the schedule on this page. The Green Electronics Council will enable product registrations in the new country/region “behind the scenes” for participating manufacturers for 60 days. All product declarations in the new country are subject to Desk Review. At the end of that time the new country registry will be made available to public view.

Countries / Regions Pending Approval

Requested Country Additions

  • None at this time